This “family” church dates to 1869, when a local Methodist Society of the Methodist Episcopal Church was formed to avoid winter travel to Warren or Providence. By 1872, a church was organized and meeting took place in Drownville. In 1875, Thomas Bicknell donated three lots on the corner of Washington Road and Bradford Street for construction of a simple, shingled church with a gable roof and hip- roof belfry.
By 1926, parish growth led to construction of the present sanctuary, chancel, and nave. Built in front of the original church, the design combines Gothic and Craftsman architectural elements. The original church because the Sunday school and the church’s name was changed to West Barrington Community Church. In 1955, the steeple was removed and a one-story ell added; by 1974, the ell’s gable roof was reduced and a large dormered second floor added for expanded Sunday school use.
The handsome interior of the 1926 Sanctuary has exposed dark, walnut-brown trusses in sharp contrast to the white plastered walls and a crimson carpet. Five ornamental, stained glass windows honor the Dodge, Dubois, Greene, Hamilton and Smith families. The two windows on each side of the altar and the one facing Washington Road are the work of the well-known Boston studio of Alfred M. Bell. A large north window has 15 panels of pebbled cathedral glass, allowing diffused light to fill this harmonious space. The original bell is mounted outside at the gable peak. Today, the Barrington United Methodist Church continues to play a vibrant role in the Barrington, RI community.
In 2022, lots of interior and exterior renovations have been completed along with the addition of new technology - inclusive of the ability to record and live stream, and large TVs so we can support our digital components in house.